Most employers in the U.S. are required to pay an overtime premium to non-exempt workers who work more than 40 hours per week. This premium is based on the worker’s normal hourly wage and is 50% of it. An employee who works overtime hours must be paid one-and-one-half times his or her regular hourly wage
While employers are allowed to fire most workers in New Jersey or Pennsylvania at any time and for nearly any reason or no reason at all, there are some exceptions to this rule. Employers cannot terminate workers for discriminatory reasons based on their protected statuses. They also cannot fire workers to retaliate against them for
Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, most workers in the U.S. are entitled to receive the federal minimum wage, which is currently set at $7.25 per hour. They are also entitled to receive overtime pay of time and one-half for each hour that is worked during a workweek beyond 40 hours. The law defines work
Since the 1930s, most U.S. employers have been required to pay their eligible employees that work more than 40 hours in a week overtime pay. This law was originally passed so that work would be spread among more people so that the unemployment rolls could be reduced. Today, overtime pay is no longer viewed as
Court sides with drivers, holds that Werner violated the law. As many of you know, we have been, and continue to, fight very hard for all drivers of Werner. Since 2011, we have been litigating Petrone v. Werner Enterprises. For years, we have worked to convince the courts (and Werner) that Werner fails to pay
Mortgage loan officers might be now entitled to a 40-hour work week and overtime pay, after the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the Department of Labor acted within its authority when it reclassified loan officers as non-exempt employees who are eligible for overtime. The ruling stems from a 2010 decision by the Department of Labor to reclassify loan officers.
The United States District Court District of New Jersey preliminarily approved a settlement to pay for alleged violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act (the “FLSA”), the New Jersey Wage and Hour Law, and the New Jersey Wage Payment Law. TRENTON, NJ: The settlement resolves a lawsuit that was filed back in 2013 over whether
What is the New Jersey Minimum Wage? On January 1, 2015, New Jersey’s minimum wage rose from $8.25 to $8.38 which represents an increase of 1.59. This annual adjustment of 13 cents was approved to counteract the rate of inflation, which was increasing the cost of living in the state as the wage stayed the
NEWARK, NJ: On September 30, 2014, the United States District Court District of New Jersey ordered judgment against the New Jersey based trucking company, Jasmin International Corporation and its owner for violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”), the New Jersey Wage and Hour Law, and the New Jersey Wage Payment Law. The plaintiff truck drivers were represented by Swartz Swidler, LLC, an employment law firm based in Cherry Hill, NJ which is litigating nearly a dozen wage and hour matters against trucking companies nationwide.
SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH: The class and collective action lawsuit filed against C.R. England earlier this year is becoming a major legal battle between the company’s current and former truck drivers and the company. As of the writing of this article, more than 5,000 C.R. England drivers have filed Consent Forms to join the C.R. England Class Action Lawsuit (as of 11/9/2013). The collective and class action lawsuit, which was filed in the United States District Court for the District of Utah earlier this year, was certified as a collective action in September of 2013.