New Jersey Wage and Hour Laws

New Jersey State Labor Laws

Workers in New Jersey are protected by multiple state and federal wage and hour laws. If you believe that your employer has not paid you what you deserve, you might want to schedule an appointment with the experienced legal team at Swartz Swidler. Our employment law attorneys can evaluate your case and offer you an assessment of its validity. Here are the rights that you have in New Jersey.

The New Jersey minimum wage

While the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour and is enforced by the wage and hour division of the U.S. Department of Labor, employers in the state must pay the higher minimum wage under New Jersey law. As of Jan. 1, 2017, employers in the state must pay nonexempt workers $8.44 per hour under the New Jersey wage and hour law.

Minimum wage for tipped workers

Under the FLSA, employers are allowed to pay a lower hourly wage to employees if their tips make up the difference to reach at least the full minimum wage for every hour worked. In New Jersey, employers are allowed to establish the hourly rate that they choose as long as the workers’ tips equal at least $8.44 per hour. If not, the employers have to make up the difference in pay.

Mandatory overtime laws in NJ

Eligible workers in New Jersey must be paid one and one-half times their normal hourly rate for every hour that they work over 40 in a week. There are some types of jobs that are exempt from overtime requirements, however.

How many hours is considered full time in NJ?

There is not an established number of hours that are considered to be full-time work in New Jersey. Full-time work is instead considered according to the norms for different industry sectors.

Lunch and rest breaks

While employers in New Jersey are not required to offer rest or lunch breaks, they must pay employees if they are required to do work during their breaks. Your employer must also pay you for any short breaks that you take from five to 20 minutes.

What are wage and hour laws?

Wage and hour laws are in place to set the minimum standards regarding pay and the time worked. They cover issues such as minimum wage, overtime, tips, breaks, the activities that count as work, when you must be paid, the things that you must be paid for and others.

Origination of wage and hours law

The Fair Labor Standards Act is the wage and hour law under the federal system. Many state and local governments also have their own wage and hour laws. Employers who are covered by more than one wage and hour law must follow the one that provides the most protections to workers.

Contact an attorney

If you believe that your employer has committed wage and hour violations, you might benefit by seeking legal advice. Schedule a consultation with the experienced employment law team at Swartz Swidler today to learn about your NJ employee rights.